This site contains information from January 2009-December 2014. Click HERE to go the CURRENT website.

Commerce Secretary Gary Locke Honors U.S. Companies with Highest President Award for Exports


Thursday, May, 13, 2010



Commerce Secretary Gary Locke Honors U.S. Companies with Highest Presidential Award for Exports


U.S. Commerce Secretary Gary Locke today presented 22 companies and organizations with the 2010 Presidential “E” Award and “E” Star Award for outstanding contributions to growing U.S. exports, strengthening the economy and creating American jobs. The Presidential “E” Awards are the highest U.S. government honor for increasing exports.

These are the first “E” and “E” Star Awards given out since President Obama announced the National Export Initiative, which aims to double American exports and support two million U.S. jobs by 2015.

“Today we honor companies that are selling high-quality products and services in every corner of the world, and most importantly, helping to create good jobs for American workers,” Locke said. “This administration is focused on helping American businesses, like the ones honored today, take advantage of the worldwide economic recovery and sell more abroad.”

The Presidential “E” Award was created by President John F. Kennedy in 1961 to recognize persons, firms or organizations that contribute significantly to increasing U.S. exports. The “E Star” Award, meanwhile, recognizes continued superior performance in increasing or promoting exports.

The Department of Commerce’s International Trade Administration, which seeks to improve the global business environment and help U.S. firms to compete and win both at home and abroad, manages the award program that has recognized more than 2,500 firms since its inception.

The 2010 “E” Award recipients are: The Bode Technology Group, Inc., Lorton, Va.; CECA Supply & Services, Inc., Houston, Texas; Daavlin Company, Bryan, Ohio; DemeTech Corporation, Miami, Fla.; Equipxp LC, Houston, Texas; Matthews Studio Equipment, Burbank, Calif.; Natural Organics, Melville, N.Y.; Oil Center Research International, LLC, Lafayette, La.; Otis Spunkmeyer, Inc., San Leandro, Calif.; Pharmaceutical Trade Services, Inc., Ocean Springs, Miss.; Polyguard Products, Inc., Ennis, Texas; ProStuff LLC, Rockford, Ill.; Quantum Design, Inc., San Diego, Calif.; RAD-CON, Inc., Cleveland, Ohio; Slade, Inc., Statesville, N.C.; Vita-Mix Corporation, Cleveland, Ohio; and WCCO Belting, Inc., Wahpeton, N.D.

The following companies were awarded the President’s “E” Award for Export Service: Sacramento Regional Center for International Trade Development, Sacramento, Calif.; and Saint Vincent College, Small Business Development Center, Center for Global Competitiveness, Latrobe, Pa.

The following organizations were awarded the President’s “E Star” Award: Nationwide Equipment Company, Jacksonville, Fla.; NOW Health Group, Inc., Bloomingdale, Ill.; and Sauereisen, Inc., Pittsburgh, Pa.