This site contains information from January 2009-December 2014. Click HERE to go the CURRENT website.

Commerce Secretary Gary Locke Honors U.S. Companies with Highest Award for Exports

Monday, May 16, 2011

U.S. Commerce Secretary Gary Locke today honored 27 companies and organizations that are recipients of the 2011 President’s “E” Award.  The “E” Award, which is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, is the highest U.S. government recognition any American entity may receive for supporting export activity.  

Through his National Export Initiative (NEI), President Obama has raised the importance of exporting U.S. manufactured goods and services to support America’s continued economic recovery and job creation. The “E” Award recipients are contributors to the President’s NEI goal of doubling U.S. exports by 2015, supporting several million American jobs.   

“Today, we honor organizations helping to expand exports and companies that are selling high-quality products and services in every corner of the world, and most importantly, helping to create good jobs for American workers,” Locke said. “This administration is focused on helping American businesses, like the ones honored today, reach the 95 percent of consumers who live outside our borders. I am proud to recognize their significant export achievements.”

The Presidential “E” Award was created by President John F. Kennedy in 1961, to recognize persons, firms, or organizations that contribute significantly to increasing United States exports. The Department of Commerce’s International Trade Administration, which seeks to improve the global business environment and help U.S. firms to compete and win both at home and abroad, manages the award program that has recognized more than 2,500 firms since its inception.

The 2011 “E” Award for Exports recipients are:
Abaxis, Inc., Union City, Calif.
Acrow Corporation of America, Parsippany, N.J.
Advanced Protein Systems, Phoenix, Ariz.
Aero Precision Industries, LLC, Livermore, Calif.
Amarr Garage Doors, Winston-Salem, N.C.
Blackboard, Inc., Washington, D.C.
Brandt Holdings Company, Fargo, N.D.
Codonics, Inc., Middleburg Heights, Ohio
Combustion Associates, Corona, Calif.
Cyanotech Corporation, Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Kenyon International Emergency Services, Inc., Houston, Texas
Labcon North America, Petaluma, Calif.
MagicTime International, Doral, Fla.
Noni Biotech International, LLC, Haiku, Hawaii
Rauland-Borg Corporation, Mount Prospect, Ill.
Ruud Lighting, Inc., Racine, Wisc.  
Signature Fencing and Flooring Systems, LLC, New York, N.Y.
Tiger Machinery Company, LLC, Birmingham, Ala.
Unique Spectronix, Inc., Fullerton, Calif.; and
Volk Optical, Inc., Mentor, Ohio.
The following companies are awarded the 2011 President’s “E” Award for Export Service:
California ETEC, Irvine, Calif.
Edwards Global Services, Inc., Irvine, Calif.
Le Centre International de Lafayette, Lafayette, La.
Nance College of Business, Cleveland, Ohio
Pennsylvania Center for Trade Development, Harrisburg, Pa.
RF International/Ocean World Lines, Inc., Lake Success, N.Y.; and
Trade Technologies, Inc., Austin, Texas.